Impatient for blooms

It usually happens in February.  I get the urge to make a quilt using wild and crazy colors and/or a wild and crazy pattern.  I eagerly await the emergence of Spring flowers.  It seems to take forever.  Every single year.  I am an impatient resident of winter.  It isn’t that I don’t appreciate the beauty of winter — I do!  But by the time February rolls around, my eyes are feeling deprived of color and of sun.

IMG_0291

One of my favorite “Spring” poems is this one:

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now

BY A.E. Housman

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now
Is hung with bloom along the bough,
And stands about the woodland ride
Wearing white for Eastertide.
Now, of my threescore years and ten,
Twenty will not come again,
And take from seventy springs a score,
It only leaves me fifty more.
And since to look at things in bloom
Fifty springs are little room,
About the woodlands I will go
To see the cherry hung with snow.

IMG_5543

I am about a few decades older that the person in this poem. I most likely don’t have even 50 more springs to see the branches “hung with snow” — with those lovely white and fragrant blooms.
I certainly plan to enjoy each and every spring (and every moment of every day!) for all the years I have left to live.

I love taking photographs of flowers.
I love all kinds of flower, but I seem to gravitate to roses, spring blooms and to day lilies.
I even take pictures of flowers in vases and pots that I happen to have at home.

I took a few pics of the potted hyacinths and tulips I bought this week (Valentine gifts for my two teenagers).

Here are some of my favorites from other seasons and times (all taken by me):

I just found these beautifully inspiring Big Blooms by Paul Lange today. Please follow the link to see Lange’s photographs. It is worth a look.

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/paul-lange-big-blooms

As a prominent fashion photographer for 25 years, Paul Lange has had his photographs featured in such publications as Vogue, Glamour and Elle. It was only eight years ago that he decided to make the switch to Fine Art photography, using the skills he had acquired in fashion to create his own original series. Big Blooms, which was started back in 2007, is a series that gives us a fresh new appreciation for flowers. He calls it Big Blooms because his photos of the flowers are blown up or as he says, “thrown out of scale.” With every single portrait, he takes into account lighting, line, form and composition, using the same approach he’s used in portraiture or fashion.
–quote from the blog by alice on mymodernmet.com

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “Impatient for blooms”

  1. I feel the same way about winter, Jill. By February. I’m buying potted tulips, hyacinths (wonderful fragrance) and any thing else with lots of color. The plus to this is being able to plant them in the spring.

    March 1st, Rich & I are going to pot up the amaryllis. We have about 25 bulbs now. Started with two potted plants, a red and a pink/white, about 5 yrs ago. They are wondrous to watch grow and bloom.
    Thanks for the flower show today.

Leave a Reply

