The Power of Destination

Mom on the prairie path

I misread a title.  I thought it said “The Power of Destination.”  It actually said “The Power of Demonstration.”

The article was a reminder that actions speak louder than words.

What you do is as important, or even more so, than what you say.  I think there is very little to argue in that line of reasoning.

I think there is validity in my mis-reading, though.

If you have a destination in mind, there is power in that.

If you set a goal, it makes a difference.

If you don’t set a goal, you will ensure that you never arrive at any destination.

If you never plan for making changes, chances are nothing will ever change.

One time, long ago, before kids — my husband and I were sitting in our little car fully packed for a camping trip.  We had not decided where we would go on our camping trip!

We discussed several options.  The top choices were the Rockies and the Smokies.  We finally decided on the Smokies.

My husband still likes to tell this story (and apparently so do I!) — as evidence that we were once incredibly spontaneous and carefree.

Anyway.

I like the idea of thinking about the power of setting a destination.

A possible destination for our family is Turkey!  We are hoping to go there this summer, but I haven’t actually made the commitment to buy tickets or set dates.

I really need to do it, and I have no idea what is holding me back.

I need to make changes to improve my long-term health, and I’m struggling with that, too.

I need to do so many things, that sometimes it is overwhelming!

There are destinations that we don’t even know we need to plan for yet.

Two weeks ago, I didn’t know we’d have a new kitten in our lives.   Now we do!  Already she has settled into our home and our hearts.

If needed, I would drop everything to go help family or friends whether nearby or in other states.

If illness or death happens, plans change instantly.  Destinations are sometimes not in our control.

A quote from an Emily Dickinson poem got stuck in my head this week:

“The Soul should always stand ajar”

If our Soul is indeed kept ajar, we will be open to considering new destinations.

We will be open to the beauty that surprises us and to the love that is all around us.

We will be open to consider new paths, new options, new jobs, new friends, new  — whatever.

Here’s to the journey and to the destination.

Here’s to Souls kept ajar!

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

