Random thoughts from the Tromp Queen

  • To the woman in the oncoming car that nearly bashed into me:  Do not text and drive!  Do not text and drive on ice!  Do not text and drive on ice and turn a corner!  Do not text, drive on ice, turn a corner and nearly run into my CAR!!

There.  I feel better.

  • Kittens are fuzzy and cute, but kitten claws are sharp.  (Did I mention we adopted a new kitten?!)
  • Crazy Cat Lady territory starts at 4 cats.  Luckily I only have three.
  • 17 year old son asked who made the Crazy Cat Lady rules.  I did.  Arbitrarily.  Deal with it
Xena Luna.
Xena Luna.
  • Note to self:  Remember what we decided about long scarves, cross-body-bags, and purses?  Tangle-city.  BEWARE!
  • Playing the piano nearly seven hours in a day is kind of a long time.
  • Losing a Yaktrax off your left boot on an icy day and not noticing it right away.  Bummer.  Finding it on the sidewalk nearly 2 hours later.  Bazinga!
Yaktrax!  I found it lying on the sidewalk 2 hours later.  I'm guessing no one knew what it was.  Maybe they thought it was a trap of some sort?
Yaktrax! I found it lying on the sidewalk 2 hours later. I’m guessing no one knew what it was. Maybe they thought it was a trap of some sort?

(What are Yaktrax you ask?  They are like things you can attach to your boots/shoes to keep from slipping on ice. https://www.yaktrax.com)

  • My husband (who has nearly 13 years of college and grad work) thought the word for embouchure was armature.

Embouchure means the position and use of the lips, tongue, and teeth in playing a wind instrument.

Armature means various things:  a framework used by a sculptor to support a figure being modeled in a plastic material, or an organ or structure (as teeth or thorns) for offense or defense.

(source:  Merriam-Webster dictionary online  http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary)

  • I took one of those personality quizzes with my daughter.  Turns out I’m a Prima Donna.  Neither of us was surprised.

My result:  You are a total Prima Donna.  In your world, you are the star and everyone else is just a supporting character.  We hope you’ve got the talent to support that giant ego!

quiz source:  http://figment.com

Quiz from Figment.
Quiz from Figment.
Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

6 thoughts on “Random thoughts from the Tromp Queen”

  1. Jesse and Cyndy: I just checked and you are NOT listed as following my blog via email. Please click on the FOLLOW button again, and make sure you follow all the way through whatever the steps are. I will let you know when I see you on the “followers” list. Thanks!

  2. If you or your reader is having trouble signing up to follow a blog, or isn’t receiving email updates, you can try these to fix the problem.

    Check your spam/junk email box. If you have an option to unblock specific email addresses, try allowing *@wordpress.com (all emails from the domain) and/or no-reply@wordpress.com addresses.
    Make sure you to uncheck the box next to “Block all email updates from WordPress.com blogs you follow” on your Manage Delivery Settings page.
    Double-check that you have confirmed your request to follow. You can view all of the blogs and comment threads you’re following on your Read Blogs page (if you have a WordPress.com account), or at subscribe.wordpress.com (if you don’t have any account but are following WordPress.com blogs).

    Please let me know if this solves the email notification issue for you or not. I will keep looking for answers.

  3. It’s not sending me updates, either. I usually pick up on it in one of your fb comments.
    And…that quiz was right on. You are a prima donna…but the happiest one I have ever met. Your joie de vivre just radiates out to encompass the rest of us.

    1. I just checked my “followers” list and I don’t see you on either the email followers or on the wordpress followers. I’m sorry if you thought you had signed up, but please try again! Thanks, Jesse.

Leave a Reply

