That other, larger, stronger, quieter life

Stress
Stress (Photo credit: topgold)

The moment you wake up each morning, all your wishes and hopes for the day rush at you like wild animals. And the first job each morning consists in shoving it all back; in listening to that other voice, taking that other point of view, letting that other, larger, stronger, quieter life come flowing in.

English: Flowing stream over rocks
English: Flowing stream over rocks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

C.S. Lewis from Mere Christianity

Mountains - Autumn in Denali

~I Choose the Mountain~

The low lands call
I am tempted to answer
They are offering me a free dwelling
Without having to conquer

The massive mountain makes its move
Beckoning me to ascend
A much more difficult path
To get up the slippery bend

I cannot choose both
I have a choice to make
I must be wise
This will determine my fate

I choose, I choose the mountain
With all its stress and strain
Because only by climbing
Can I rise above the plane

I choose the mountain
And I will never stop climbing
I choose the mountain
And I shall forever be ascending

I choose the mountain

–Howard Simon
Mother Teresa of Calcutta (26.8.1919-5.9.1997)...
Mother Teresa of Calcutta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Life is an opportunity, benefit from it.
Life is beauty, admire it.
Life is a dream, realize it.
Life is a challenge, meet it.
Life is a duty, complete it.
Life is a game, play it.
Life is a promise, fulfill it.
Life is sorrow, overcome it.
Life is a song, sing it.
Life is a struggle, accept it.
Life is a tragedy, confront it.
Life is an adventure, dare it.
Life is luck, make it.
Life is too precious, do not destroy it.
Life is life, fight for it.”
― Mother Teresa

twisty forest paths
twisty forest paths (Photo credit: MGSpiller)
In this life
we are all just walking
up the mountain and
we can sing as we climb
or we can complain
about our sore feet
Whichever we choose
we still gotta do the hike
I decided
a long time ago
singing made a lot
more sense
Sing
Sing (Photo credit: ktylerconk)
Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “That other, larger, stronger, quieter life”

  1. What a lovely post to read first thing on Monday morning. Thank you.
    I love that C.S. Lewis quote–and the photo of the path through the woods is elegant.
    P.S. Good job getting everything where it should go! 😉

Leave a Reply

