Creativity

I’ve been thinking a lot about creativity lately.
Much of what I do in my daily life falls under the heading of being
creative in one way or another,
but mostly my creating is done in the world of music.
I play the piano for various vocalists, instrumentalists and university choirs.
I lead and teach an Orff– based children’s choir in our community weekly for a group of first and second graders.
I direct a church choir of mostly adult singers (actually mostly retired adults!).
I create other things, too —
I create menus, cook meals, make earrings, design and sew quilts.
I create time in my life for family, friends, and for my faith.
I create an elaborate weekly schedule that often includes all of my five part-time jobs!
I create worlds in my imagination when I read books and poetry.
I create blog posts and facebook status statements.  😉

Being creative takes energy and a certain mindset.

One of the few TV shows I really enjoy watching is Project Runway.  I like watching the creative process that the various designers use.  It is interesting to see how different people approach roadblocks, setbacks, conflict, frustration, fatigue, etc.  One thing is incredibly obvious, though.  It is terribly difficult to be creative when tired, stressed, rushed, unappreciated, unheard, lonely, sad, or when filled with self-doubt.  I would personally add hungry to that list of roadblocks to creativity.  🙂

Here are a few of my favorite quotes
about being creative and unique:

The world always seems brighter when you’ve just made something that wasn’t there before.
Neil Gaiman

Making Art in a Tulip Field
Making Art in a Tulip Field (Photo credit: prorallypix)

The one thing that you have that nobody else has is you.
Your voice, your mind, your story, your vision.
So write and draw and build and play and dance
and live as only you can.
Neil Gaiman

Design Process
Design Process (Photo credit: Mazzarello Media and Arts)

Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes.
Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Scott Adams

Pablo Picasso, Three Musicians (1921), Museum ...
Pablo Picasso, Three Musicians (1921), Museum of Modern Art. Acquired through the Lillie P. Bliss Bequest. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The purpose of art is washing
the dust of daily life
off our souls.

Pablo Picasso

Creativity takes courage.
— 
Henri Matisse
Henri Matisse. Woman with a Hat, 1905. San Fra...
Henri Matisse. Woman with a Hat, 1905. San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
We must be careful with our lives, for Christ’s sake,
because it would seem that they are the only lives
we are going to have in this puzzling and perilous world,
and so they are very precious
and what we do with them matters enormously.

— Frederick Buechner

"Here is the world. Beautiful and terribl...
“Here is the world. Beautiful and terrible things will happen. Don’t be afraid.” ~Frederick Buechner, photo by Eric_Marmota (Photo credit: On Being)

I just saw a great article about creativity:

Yo-Yo Ma talks about the “edge effect” of creative collaboration and more…

http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2013/04/09/176681242/can-yo-yo-ma-fix-the-arts?utm_source=NPR&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=20130409

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

5 thoughts on “Creativity”

  1. I love this post! Creativity is my sanity and gift from heaven. Lately our children have been really diving into music (piano, drums, guitar) and my heart fills with joy when I hear them practicing and enjoying their music. The quotes and paintings you listed were the icing on the cake. Lovely!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. On the whiteboard in my room I have a magnet that says, “Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – Unknown

    Right next to it is another magnet that has the Herni Matisse quote you listed above. I didn’t get them at the same time, but once I had both magnets I knew that they were a good pair.

    Keep up the fabulous creativity, Jillskies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

