Channel for grace

I’ve had a song stuck in my head.  It is a chorus from my church youth group years.  The words are simple and few:

This is my commandment that you love one another, that your joy be made full.

Golden ratio sunset
Golden ratio sunset (Photo credit: jcoterhals)

I’ve been thinking about love a lot this week.  I’ve thought about that commandment to love. I realized that I have often felt that loving others (especially the un-lovable ones) is just one more duty that I should be doing as a Christian.  Check it off the list.  Do it because Jesus said to do it.

photo by quirkyjazz
photo by quirkyjazz

Then I had a thought:  Maybe Jesus is telling us (ok, commanding us) to love others because it is the best thing for us.  It is not only because of the people who need to receive the love.  It is because we are created to give love.  The loving others (even the un-lovables) is so that we get the whole deal coming to us, too.  I’m not saying we should love others because of what’s in it for ourselves, of course.  It was an insight into the whole shebang of things for me.

NautilusCutawayBlue
NautilusCutawayBlue (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m in a small group book study.  We are reading a book about prayer.  One of the readings  this week described prayer as a channel for grace.  I kept thinking that love is a channel, too.  It sometimes runs only one way; at its best it runs both directions, though.

Jesus is So Cool
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

One thought on “Channel for grace”

Leave a Reply

