Give some LOVE: Daily Prompt Press It

Daily Prompt:  Press It

Give some love to three blog posts you’ve read and loved in the past week, and tell us why they’re worth reading.

Today’s Daily Prompt seems like an easy task today.  I’ve read so many inspiring blog posts this week that it will be hard to choose just three.

One:
The Wild Heart of England by Sue Vincent
http://scvincent.com/2013/03/24/the-wild-heart-of-england/

“There is something in those hills that has me by the heart and soul and calls me home. The photographs simply do not do the landscape justice. They lack the scale and grandeur, the sparkle in the air, the bite of the wind on your cheeks, whipping your hair as you lean into the wind, fighting to stay upright. They cannot show the subtle shift of colour, the play of light and shadow. They lack the absoluteness and extremity of its beauty.” — Sue Vincent, from The Wild Heart of England.

Yorkshire

Sue’s words are vivid and bring you right into the scene where she is so you can experience what she saw and felt and heard.  Her photographs are beautiful.  I have never really had a desire to go to the North of England, but now I do after reading her blog post.

Two:
Bees and Blooms Medley by greenlightlady
http://greenlightlady.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/bees-and-blooms-medley/

Daffodil
Daffodil (Photo credit: Sentrawoods.)

“I believe that God must have smiled to himself as He designed spring blooms knowing that they would delight and warm our hearts after winter’s icy cold fingers had been pried off our gardens… much in the same way that Easter’s events pried the grip of sin and death from those who believe and trust in the risen Christ.”  — greenlightlady, from Bees and Blooms Medley

I really enjoyed seeing Sue’s photographs of woodland spring flowers.  They are very well focused and well composed.  She even caught a bee sampling a daffodil’s nectar.  Her poems are lovely — simple, clear, and evocative.  My eyes and spirit are starved for the color and freshness of spring.  (I live in Wisconsin and there is snow in the forecast…)

Three:
Dearest Pine, by leaf and twig
http://leafandtwig.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/dearest-pine/

Evergreen Delicacy:  Asparagus Fern
Evergreen Delicacy: Asparagus Fern (Photo credit: cobalt123)

My eyes are hungry for the fresh green of springtime.  The poem and the lovely green photograph of an evergreen posted by leaf and twig feed that craving.  I also enjoyed several other poems in this blog that have been posted recently:  Songstress, Sweet Magnolia, Vacancy, Warrior, Estre, Return.  The posts are mostly two or three line poems with one simple photograph to illustrate the thought.  The tag line for leaf and twig’s blog is “where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry.”
I am thankful to have found this very talented set of writers/photographers and look forward to reading/seeing their continued creative output here on WordPress.

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

7 thoughts on “Give some LOVE: Daily Prompt Press It”

    1. I’ve really been enjoying your blog, so it was an easy choice to include you in this list of my favorites. I have always loved British literature and have been to some England a couple of times. I never got to see anything remotely like those beautiful places you showed and described in The Wild Heart post, though. Next time I go, I’m going NORTH. 🙂

      1. You cannot beat the beauty of the north in my humble opinion. I am, of course, biased, being a northerner myself.. But it is not for nothing Yorkshire is called God’s Own County 🙂

Leave a Reply

