What once was lost; Now is found!

Recipes
What once was lost; Now is found!

I’ve been missing my favorite recipe notebook for several months now.

IMG_3727
When I noticed it was not in the usual places, I figured it had just gotten buried in a stack of cookbooks or hidden under a stack of dish towels or hot pads or something.  (My kitchen is a “creative” kitchen.  Not the tidiest place in the world, usually).  The weeks went by and I became a little more concerned.  I did a pretty thorough cleanup and still did not find it.

Now I was really getting concerned.

I asked my family if anyone had seen it lately.  I did a deep search.  Still nothing.  My husband assured me he did not throw it away.  I was still worried it might have fallen into a trash can or gotten caught up in a pile of papers and put in the recycling bin.

I started making a mental list of the recipes I had in the notebook.  Which ones could I get again from the original sources?  Many were from friends in other places we’ve lived.

Some were recipes I had tweaked and/or created.
Some were recipes from our children’s pre-school.
Some were recipes my mother-in-law made for us when she visited after our first child was born.
Some were recipes from my mom, written down in her very colloquial vernacular.
Some were recipes from other countries.

Some I had clipped recipes from magazines and newspapers over the years, but always including only the best ones.

Things didn’t just get into that notebook automatically.  They had to be GOOD.  Extra special.  Recipes I used often.

Well worn edges show how much I use this!
Well worn edges show how much I use this!

I sighed inwardly.  I sighed outwardly.

I resigned myself to the fact it was gone.  I would have to re-create the notebook to the best of my abilities.

I just recently began asking friends to locate the recipes I had gotten from them.

Then, today—

I've been writing recipes and cutting/pasting recipes that I especially like in this notebook for at least 15 years or more!
I’ve been writing recipes and cutting/pasting recipes that I especially like in this notebook for at least 15 years or more!

I found it!  It was indeed buried in the farthest corner of my kitchen counter (way back behind the dish drainer).  It was under a stack of insulated lunch bags that rarely get used and behind a bin of empty spice jars that are waiting to be re-filled.  (I LOVE Penzey’s Spices!!!)

I’m so happy!

In honor of this finding, I will share my mom’s macaroni salad recipe.

Boil elbow macaroni until not quite done.  (I would call that al dente but these are her words.)  Rinse with cold water and drain.  (You can use anywhere from 2 c. to a whole 1 lb. box or more).  Squirt it with yellow mustard.  Whack up celery and onions. Add sweet pickle relish and some of the juice from the jar, too.  In a bowl, blob of mayo and add a bit of sugar.  Thin the mayo with a little water.  Chop up 2 to 4 hard boiled eggs.  Add all this together.  Might need to add some milk.

YAY!

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

3 thoughts on “What once was lost; Now is found!”

Leave a Reply

