Change

I experimented with changing the appearance of my blog. I thought it would be an easy thing to do! I was wrong. BEWARE! If you change, it is not easy to change back. I’m guessing I missed some magical step that would have resurrected my former settings, but I just spent quite a while trying to re-create the widget collection and various settings I had before the change.

change
change (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

I was enticed by the the idea of a fresh new theme.

I think I was lured because my whole home is in an uproar. My whole life is in an uproar. Actually it is all total chaos, which I believe is worse than a total uproar! EVERY room has boxes in various stages of fullness and emptiness. EVERY room has some “fix” that needs to be done or some furniture that needs to be taken out to be stored or some thing (more specifically: all things) that need to be cleaned!

I thought I could exert a little control over my blog world. Choose a new theme. It’ll be quick and easy and my, won’t it be nice to have something new to look at and work with?

Oh, well. Better luck next time, when every other thing in my life isn’t changing. I’ll try again someday. I promise!

I’m still smiling and taking lots of deep breaths, so no harm done.

This image shows a whole and a cut lemon.
This image shows a whole and a cut lemon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By the way — I learned something fantastic today:

Lemon oil ROCKS! Use it on woodwork or wooden furniture and the stuff just glows!

I grabbed the bottle on impulse during my last shopping spree to Farm and Fleet. (Yes, I’ve branched out from Menard’s!). I thought, “Lemon oil? Isn’t that the stuff they put in Pledge? Hmmm… if it is here at Farm and Fleet it must be what all those hard-working farm wives use. I’ll give it a try.” You pour a little onto a rag, wipe it on to the wood, then go back and wipe off the excess with another dry rag. Easy peasey. It smells great, too.

Hopefully THIS will be the secret thing that makes our house sell fast! The first open house is this coming Wednesday, the 19th!. YIKES.

I usually don’t do the stream consciousness type of blog post. Thank you for listening.

The connection between these things is wanting to make old things seem like something new. Lemon oil works. Changing blog themes, not so much. (At least for me today!)

Blessings!

After I published this post I got an email with this devototional message — about CHANGE!

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

7 thoughts on “Change”

  1. I found it fun and exhausting when I changed my blog theme a few months ago. First I could not decide which one and then I was just plain having fun: it’s kinda like playing dress-up! So I ended up starting an another blog because I liked having another “paper-doll” to decorate. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Go, Jill, go! Thanks for the cleaning tip. I’m in the midst of cleaning too – my Mother probably wishes I was moving, but I’m not! I’m glad you are still smiling.

    1. I discovered Scott’s Liquid Gold brand has a bottle of lemon oil, too. Or maybe that is what it has always been and I never knew. The lemon oiling of the woodwork is something the 17 year old sloth-mode teen will do, so that is another HUGE plus!

Leave a Reply

