The Science of Happiness

What makes you happy? Have you ever wondered why?

This video investigates what makes people happier and why.

After watching this, I couldn’t get the people, what they said, and how they reacted out of my mind.

Why is it so difficult for us to tell the people we love how we feel about them? Why is it difficult for us to tell them how they make US feel? Why does expressing gratitude often make both the “teller” and the “hearer” cry?

I think I make an effort to be aware of blessings in my life. I try to notice beautiful things wherever they may be. In fact, sometimes people tease me about how much I love nature and beauty. I have written a few letters and emails over the years to express gratitude and thankfulness, but I could certainly do more and do it more often.

Do you feel the impulse to follow the experiment through with yourself and someone you care about?

Mull it over. Give it some thought.

Who would you call? What would you say? What is holding you back from doing it?

I’d love to hear what happens when and if you do.

 

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

4 thoughts on “The Science of Happiness”

  1. I too don’t always watch the videos; but I watched this, because it was on gratitude, which is what I’m particularly trying to focus on this year. How charming! I watched it through tears with a smile on my face. And I just might do it. Send an email that is…Not one for phone talking!
    Thanks for posting it, and for the nudge.

  2. Thank you so much for this video! I watched the whole thing and alternated between goofy smiles and tears…wonderful, powerful and, most of all, do-able.

    1. Good Morning, Theresa! Thank you for commenting. I get tired of posts that say “here — watch this!” so I hesitated to share the video. But I’m glad I did now to hear that it was meaningful (and enjoyable!) for you. j.

Leave a Reply

