Liebster Liebe

image from tiaras and trianon

It’s The Liebster !

The blogosphere is truly a marvelous place where there’s a lot of support and encouragement given without reservation  to fellow bloggers. It’s truly an amazing feeling to be part of this beautiful community. The Liebster awards symbolises the encouragement given to bloggers and it also encourages us to interact more with each other.

I am excited to be nominated for this fun award by The Glass Bangle.  Thank you!

Details follow:

  • Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated them.
    liebster2
  • You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
  •  You must pick the next 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award, each with under 200 followers. (I’m making an executive decision to stretch this to 300ish so I can include several of my favorite blogs).
  • You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  •  You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.
image from thehappycoffeebean, at blogspot.com

Since I was nominated for The Liebster by The Glass Bangle, in this post — http://theglassbangle.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/its-the-liebster/ — I will answer here the 10 questions she asked her 10 nominees to answer:

  1. Which is your favourite time of the day ?
    In Her Down Nest
    In Her Down Nest (Photo credit: Tabbymom Jen)

    Definitely the time when you have slept really well, just barely wake up, and then realize you do NOT have to get up.  Then you go back to sleep under your cozy down comforter.

  2. Given a chance to relive one day in your life which day would that be ?  
    Physician performing a physical exam on a newb...
    Physician performing a physical exam on a newborn baby after a Caesarean section. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    The birthday of my oldest child.  I would NOT allow the Dr. to knock me out after the C-section until I got to hold my baby!  (I didn’t have a choice, they just did it.)  😦

  3. Which super power would you like to possess ?
    The Parr family. From left to right: Elastigir...
    The Parr family. From left to right: Elastigirl, Mr. Incredible, Violet and Dash. Bottom: Jack-Jack. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    Super powers are a slippery slope.  Hmmm — no capes.  I learned that from “The Incredibles.”  I would say (and I know this sounds cheesy) but the ability to make people feel loved, confident and at peace.

  4. Which is your favourite aroma, something which makes you take in huge breaths ? Probably spiced cider or apple pie.  Cinnamon.  Definitely where it’s at.  
    *Cinnamon straw
    *Cinnamon straw (Photo credit: Darwin Bell)

    (Coffee is a close second).

  5. Write one word which symbolises the person you are.  Musical

    Probably the best piano I've ever played.  Absolutely gorgeous!
    Probably the best piano I’ve ever played. Absolutely gorgeous!
  6. Have you fallen in love with any object at first sight ? All the time!  Fabric mostly.  But other things, too — vases, earrings, beautiful things of every sort.
  7. If you are given a day free of all responsibilities, a day to do whatever you wanted, what would you do ?
    Sleep in :), Have a great breakfast with family and/or friends; Go to an interesting museum or historic site (preferably in Europe); either perform in or listen to a breathtakingly beautiful concert, shop for fabric or books or jewelry; take a hike (or a taxi) to a gorgeous natural area to take photographs;

    take a coffee break, read a fantastic book, and then nap in the sun on blankets.  Follow up with a bonfire party in a forest (or a catered dinner party on a veranda overlooking a body of water) with all my closest friends and family.

  8. What’s your favourite comfort food ?
    Another tough one.  Warm brownies.

    Warm chocolate brownies P1540979
    Warm chocolate brownies (Photo credit: tomylees)

    (But there are many foods I could choose)

  9. Which movie character has taken residence in your heart ?
    A scene with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy after a ...
    A scene with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy after a swim in a lake is recognized as “one of the most unforgettable moments in British TV history”. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth)

  10. Which is the weirdest combination of food that you’ve had ?
    In Cozumel —

    seafood pilaf w/ octopus, squid, etc. but no squid ink — the closest image I could find to what I ate

    seafood pilaf (octopus, squid, mussels, etc.) with squid ink sauce (black!)  Delicious.

The blogs I nominate for The Liebster Award are
(insert drumroll here):

The Spirit of Troy drum line at Navy Pier in C...
The Spirit of Troy drum line (Photo credit: Wikipedia)Soul Gatherings
  1. The Quilt Meister
  2. Second Memory
  3. pomegranate and chintz
  4. Lucie The Happy Quilter’s Blog
  5. 3and3Quarters
  6. DreaPhotograph
  7. marsowords
  8. Sometimes There is Beauty
  9. The Artsy Wanderer 
  10. The Thrifty Queen Speaks (I just discovered your blog today, but I feel we are kindred spirits!)

These would be in alphabetical order if I had more patience and better luck with this wacky editor!

I want to thank a few fellow bloggers for their friendship and frequent comments, though they have too many followers or have already participated (or decline to do so) in the Liebster:  The Green Light Lady, Apple Hill Cottage ,  and Soul Gatherings. I am also continually inspired by Sue’s writing and photographs on the Daily Echo.  I will add The Greedy Reader to this list as well, though she is a recent kindred spirit find I look forward to future interaction with her in the blog world.  (If they care to answer my any or all of my 10 questions in the comment section, I would love to hear their answers.)

Liebster-wanna-bees, here are your 10 questions.  Please answer them in a soon-to-be-written blog post.  (No pressure, but I can’t wait to hear what you have to say!)

  1. What song is stuck in your head right now?  (If not now, then most recently?)
  2. If you are given a day free of all responsibilities, a day to do whatever you wanted, what would you do ?  (I’m borrowing this one from The Glass Bangle)
  3. Tell me about the name of your blog.  How did you come up with the name of your blog?
  4. Describe one of the most breathtaking places you’ve ever seen and how it affected you.  Where and when did you see it?
  5. What is your favorite food?  (Please share the recipe as well if you can).
  6. What are the next three books I should read?
  7. Do you have a favorite poem?  What is it and why?  (If you don’t have a poem, I’ll take a quote from a person, book or movie).
  8. What music do you listen to when you want to relax?
  9. What are three odd things about you that most people  don’t know.
  10. Tell me about a vivid sensory image.  It could be something you heard, saw, smelled, felt, or tasted.  What memory is associated with it and why?

Thank you all for reading, following, commenting in, on and around my blog!

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

8 thoughts on “Liebster Liebe”

  1. Congratulations on your well-deserved nomination. I’m glad to know other bloggers think as much of you as I do! Thank you for thinking of me with the mention, my friend.

    1. I wanted to put you in the list of Liebsters but I noticed you had it already on your list of awards. I suspect you have way too many followers as well, though I could not find your number for that. I found that the most difficult part of finding the 10 nominees, actually, finding blogs with under 200 followers! (hence my work around the rules solution to stretch the number to 300-ish hah!) I never ever look at # of followers on the blogs I read. I was surprised at some blogs I read (though may not LOVE) having so many followers and some that I really enjoy having so few. I fiddled around with “publicize” one day and was alarmed to see my follower number jump to well over 600 almost instantly. It freaked me out. I “undid” what I “did” and the number went back to normal. I don’t know why it bothered me to think all those “strangers” were going to read my blog so suddenly or what about it hit me wrong. But I like knowing that everyone here hopefully is following because they stumbled upon me or read something I wrote that they enjoyed. Okay. Random ramble from the Tromp Queen is over. Goodnight, friend.

      1. I love random ramblings… I have no clue what it takes to get a lot of followers, but I know it’s not spirituality! I have garnered 418 followers in the 9 months since I’ve started this. Some blogs, with recipes or haikus have 1,000 followers in 3 months and keep building from there. It’s all what niche you fill. Mine is justifiably tiny and too serious for most. But I am convinced that the right person will happen upon it on the right day for the right reason, whether it’s to have “Today’s Quote” resonate with them, or to read a post that I hope inspires them or offers hope or touches their heart. That’s why I started Soul Gatherings – to tell the stories of the people I’ve met who have touched and inspired me, to hopefully offer the same feelings to others. Whether or not it’s “successful” is out of my hands; I just write what I promised to write about, and people either read it or they don’t. I have to believe that it’s all for a reason that is far beyond what I understand. I’ve stopped looking at numbers, since if I reach only one person, I will have achieved my original purpose for Soul Gatherings. In the meantime, keep doing what you’re doing; it’s great!!

    1. No worries! You do because I say so. 😉 I think of this as a community building activity disguised as an award, but it is an honor all the same — to communicate with other creative spirits in the blogosphere. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

