My Three Cats

Zuki, 2013
Zuki, 2013

Zuki

Zuki is our oldest cat.  She is about 9 years old.  We adopted her from the Dubuque Humane Society.  When we first saw her, I liked the way her white-tipped tail curled like a question mark at the end and she immediately stole my heart.  She is quiet and not very demanding, but she does have specific people and places that she prefers. When Zella joined us, Zuki had a definite reaction:  “When is this other cat going to leave?”

Zella

Zella came to us about 5 years ago.  A friend and I found her as a tiny kitten in a parking lot near campus as we were taking a walk one evening.  She is the food hog of the bunch, and enjoys bossing Zuki around when she can.  Zita has perked up Zella’s world quite a bit.

Zita

Zita is our newest addition.  She came to us last February as a rescue, so she is nearly 1 year old now.  She was found under the hood of a car after a woman drove a short distance to work!  She was very tiny and her little paw pads were burned.  She LOVES to be with people ALL the time.  We don’t have many good photos of her because she is nearly always moving.  Most of the photos we do have are grey blurs or are photos of her sleeping.

All THREE cats!  They very rarely get this close to each other.  If you look very carefully, you will see a small bird perched on the fence outside the door.
All THREE cats! They very rarely get this close to each other. If you look very carefully, you will see a small bird perched on the fence outside the door.
Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

5 thoughts on “My Three Cats”

    1. I didn’t see that until I posted the photo! I love reflections but they are difficult to capture on purpose. I have more luck catching them accidentally, it would seem. They were all VERY excited by that tiny little oblivious bird.

    1. I was pretty happy with that photo, too! I took it this year after we decorated the tree. I did just a tiny bit of editing to darken the edges and bumped up the green in her eyes just smidge. This pic is the reason I wrote the whole blog post, actually. I was jut going to post this one photo, but then I was worried the other cats would be jealous! hah!

Leave a Reply

