Who Knew? Ella and Marilyn

“I owe Marilyn Monroe a real debt…it was because of her that I played the Mocambo, a very popular nightclub in the ’50s. She personally called the owner of the Mocambo, and told him she wanted me booked immediately, and if he would do it, she would take a front table every night. She told him – and it was true, due to Marilyn’s superstar status – that the press would go wild. The owner said yes, and Marilyn was there, front table, every night. The press went overboard. After that, I never had to play a small jazz club again. She was an unusual woman – a little ahead of her times. And she didn’t know it.”
– Ella Fitzgerald

When I saw this photo, I was immediately interested to find out more about the relationship between these two amazing women.  Then I found this quote from Ella.  What a story!

I see respect and friendship in this photo.  I wonder what they talked about.  To me, it is obvious they enjoyed each other’s company, though.

Quotes from Ella:

“I sing like I feel.”

“I know I’m no glamour girl, and it’s not easy for me to get up in front of a crowd of people. It used to bother me a lot, but now I’ve got it figured out that God gave me this talent to use, so I just stand there and sing.”

“The only thing better than singing is more singing.”

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

“It isn’t where you came from, it’s where you’re going that counts.”

 

 

Quotes from Marilyn:

“A girl doesn’t need anyone who doesn’t need her.”

“Ever notice how ‘What the hell?’ is always the right answer?”

“A wise girl knows her limits.  A smart girl knows she has none.”

“Most importantly, keep smiling — because life is a beautiful thing, and there is so much to smile about.”

“I believe that everything happens for a reason.  People change so you can learn to let go.  Things to wrong so you can appreciate them when they are right.  You believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself.  And sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

Marilyn Monroe in Canada, where they were filming a movie. The image belonged to the magazine Look and was given to the USA Library of Congress in 1971.

“Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.”

“Just because you fail once doesn’t mean you’re gonna fail at everything.”

 

Other Who Knew? posts I’ve written:

Related articles about Ella and Marilyn from others:

Published by

quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

7 thoughts on “Who Knew? Ella and Marilyn”

Leave a Reply

